DNT Home Buyers

What You Need to Know About New Jersey Eviction Process


The New Jersey Eviction Process stipulates that the primary and widely acknowledged justification for eviction is the non-payment of rent. By ‎New Jersey Eviction Laws of property governing landlord-tenant relationships, a valid cause must exist for the eviction of a tenant. This just cause may include any violation of the tenant agreement or lease terms. In such cases, the landlord must issue a properly drafted notice to the tenant.

The New Jersey Eviction Process emphasizes that any lease violation can potentially qualify as a valid reason for ‎Eviction In New Jersey. Nevertheless, such a violation must be accompanied by a formally written notice, which must be delivered to the tenant. It is important to note that even in cases where the tenant receives a notice indicating the potential termination of utility services if rent funds are utilized to pay for these services, the landlord is not authorized to evict the tenant solely based on this circumstance. This underscores the significance of adhering to the proper legal procedures outlined in the New Jersey Eviction Process.

How much investment for this notice depends upon the infringement? In New Jersey, what is viewed as three days or expected as long as three years in specific circumstances? DNT Home Buyers is a well-renowned home-buying company that facilitates you through the whole procedure. There are several tips for Landlords in New Jersey for smooth processing.

Notice Posted

Following are the reasons based on that, Landlords in New Jersey can begin the eviction Process.

  • Violation of Rental Agreement
  • Nonpayment / Delay in Rent
  • Property Damage / Negligence
  • Personal Use / Sale
  • Employment Termination
  • Illegal activity

Complaint Filing Process

Complaints and summons are served through tenants. It is the 2nd step in which we discussed how you sell an eviction house in New Jersey landlords need to file a complaint in the civil part of the superior judiciary. There are four possible ways to proceed. 

  1. The tenant receives the copy from you itself.
  2. Anybody residing with the tenant over 14 years of age
  3. Post a copy at the rental unit
  4. Send an email as a last resort if no option is available.

Hearing of the Court & Judgment

The hearing process will start within 10 to 30 days after the summons is issued by the court. If the tenant did not appear for the hearing, there might be a possibility that judgment came in the landlord’s favor because of the tenant’s absence. The tenant eviction process has no other way except to move out from there. To avoid eviction tenant has to pay the amount owed within three business days from the date of judgment issued in favor of the landlord.  The landlord has to stop the New Jersey Eviction Process only in that case if tenants pay all previous due rent payments, despite the judicial officer’s decision being in his favor.

Issuance of Warrant for Removal

A warrant of removal is known as the final notice to allow tenants to leave their rented place and remove their belongings. Otherwise, officers of exceptional civil part return to the property to remove the tenant eviction process by force. The landlord must get a judgment of possession from the court before starting the New Jersey Eviction Process. If the court has given a verdict in favor of the landlord, he must ask the court to issue a warrant for removal. Usually, the warrant is issued within three business days after the ruling.    

Possession of Property Return to Landlord

As we discussed earlier, the New Jersey Eviction Process is scheduled within three business days; Once the removal warrant is issued. Tenants have the option to extend the three business days time period to seven days by requesting an “orderly removal.” If tenants manage to pay all late payments, they can also ask for “hardship to stay,” and the period for that is six months. However, it depends on whether the judicial officer allows it.

Types of Notices with New Jersey Eviction Process

Here is a brief overview of the required notices that are mandatory to give tenants for any landlord.

3 Day Notice

This notice is given the damage to the property or any kind of violence.

14 Days’ Notice

This Notice is regarding the Non-payment of rent.

30 Days’ Notice

This notice is given on the violation of the rental agreement.

90 Days’ Notice

This notice is given on the violation of health and safety.

18 Months’ Notice

This notice is given if a residential property is used for any other purpose by that person who is living.

2 Years Notice

This notice is given to tenants involved in any kind of criminal activity.

3 Years Notice

This Notice is given if the rental properties are converting to cooperatives.

New Jersey Eviction Process


On the off chance that you’re going through the expulsion interaction or managing an issue inhabitant.  It’s vital to have the proper documentation and keep every one of the guidelines concerning expulsion in New Jersey to win your case. At the end of the day, you might need to forfeit a period and cash to remove your occupant effectively. Simply attempt to do all that can be expected and consistently look for a legal counselor’s recommendation to assist you with your case. Having two arrangements of eyes on the circumstance wouldn’t do any harm. Furthermore, when in doubt, or on the other hand, if you would instead not go through the New Jersey ousting cycle or hold on until the expulsion boycott is lifted, you can continuously offer the property to Radiance trusted home buyers and continue toward better things. All steps of the ‎Eviction In New Jersey process are explained, which will help you to understand this whole procedure.

FAQ Section

Question. Do landlords have a right to evict immediately in New Jersey?

Answer. No, the Landlord doesn’t have a right to evict immediately in New Jersey. It is mandatory to give three days prior notice before filing an ‎Eviction In New Jersey.

Question. Can a landlord evict someone for no reason in New Jersey?

Answer. If the lease has expired, then there is no reason required to evict the tenant.

Question. What is the possible cost of the eviction process in New Jersey?

Answer.  It Costs just $ 50 to evict someone in New Jersey.

Question. Is it possible to evict a tenant without a lease in New Jersey?

Answer. It is possible to evict a tenant without a lease in New Jersey, but it is mandatory to provide week-to-week tenants within seven days, month-to-month within 30 days, and year-to-year within 90 days.

Cash for Keys NJ
  • July 11, 2024

Cash for Keys NJ: What You Need to Know

Introduction: “Cash for Keys NJ” is a strategy often...

Selling a House As Is in NJ
  • July 10, 2024

Tips for Selling a House As Is in NJ

Introduction: Selling a House As Is in NJ can...

Sell a Hoarder House
  • July 9, 2024

Sell a Hoarder House Fast: New Jersey Guide

Introduction: Selling a hoarder house can be a daunting...

Take the next step

Start with trust, sell with assurance

    We respect your privacy. We will not share, rent or sell the information you provide.